Novus Light Home


SPIE Fellows Named

This year, SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, welcomes 72 Members as new Fellows of the Society. They join their fellow Fellow Members in being honored for their technical achievements, as well as for their service to the optics community and to SPIE.

Fellows are Members of the Society who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. Since the Society's inception in 1955, 1,538 SPIE Members have become Fellows.

The notable inductees include Pennsylvania State University’s Zoubeida Ounaies; Nature Photonics International Editor Rachel Won; Daylight Solutions Cofounder, CEO, and CTO Timothy Day; Berkeley Catalyst Fund Founding Partner Laura Smoliar; Friedrich Schiller University Jena Professor Stefan Nolte; and Infinera Advanced Development Director Gloria Hoefler.

"Our Fellows represent the technical range, diversity, and ethos of SPIE," notes Chair of the SPIE Fellows Committee and Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems engineer Jeffrey Puschell. "With our 72 new Fellows – including for the second year in a row, a record number of women – we honor the innovative technologies that are being developed across the optics and photonics industry by scientists in academia, industry and government. It’s been my pleasure to work with the Nominating Committee to recognize the work of these SPIE Members, and it's my pleasure to recognize each one of them for their cumulative and ongoing professional successes."

New Fellows are recognized at the SPIE Symposium of their choice throughout the year. The first group will be recognized at the Fellows Luncheon at SPIE Photonics West 2020, which will include a presentation by the 2020 SPIE Gold Medal-winner Ursula Keller.

See more about the Fellows here.

Labels: SPIE,Fellows,optics,photonics,lasers,research

Back Back to People

Illuminating Products

Copyright © 2020 Novus Media Today Group, LLC. All rights reserved. Website design and build by MM Design.